Thoughts on Parting Words

convergence -- goodby sir
Image by erik_found via Flickr

As do all real things, words have power.  One of the greatest power these abstract wonders have is the ability to betray what we really think or believe.  The last words or late-in-life words often betray that the positions they took and the priorities they lived by early in their lives didn’t satisfy their longing for meaning and purpose. Some men and women die in the peace of assurance while of course many men and women hide behind the facade of bravado using their weak strength to put up a final resistance; but here are a selection of people’s words when they parted this world:

“It is a bit embarrassing to have been concerned with the human problem all one’s life and find at the end that one has no more to offer by way of advice than ‘Try to be a little kinder.'” – Aldous Huxley

“All my life I have been seeking to climb out of the pit of my besetting sins and I cannot do it and I never will unless a hand is let down to draw me up.” – Seneca

“The meager satisfaction that man can extract from reality leaves him starving” – Sigmund Freud

“”Standing, as I do, in the view of God and eternity I realize that patriotism is not enough. I must have no hatred or bitterness towards anyone.” – Edith Louisa Cavell

“May I not seem to have lived in vain” – Tycho Brahe

There are whole websites with more.  The best one is http://www.sanftleben.com/Last%20Words/lastwords-r-index.html.   What will be your last words?

Leave a Reply

