Repost – Apologetics and Green Eggs and Ham

17w41cnkwakxigif

I constantly argue that the main opponent against Christianity is not militant atheists (even though they are the loudest) but those who do not care. How do we get those people to care – we put a stone it their shoe as Stand to Reason would put it. In order to do that we need to be alert for a thoughtful conversation/question, to keep asking, and using different approaches – much like the hero in Dr. Seuss’s classic Green Eggs and Ham. To remind us of that strategy below is a parody of that story:

I am Sam
Sam I am

That Sam-I-am
That Christian!
I do not like
that Sam-I-am

Would you follow Jesus the Lamb?

I do not like him,
Sam-I-am.
I do not like
that pretend man.

Would you like to talk
Here or there?

I would not like talk
here or there.
I would not like talk about Him
anywhere.
I do not like
organized religion.
I do not like it,
Sam-I-am

Would you like think about the Kalam?
It talks about the universe and is not that long.

I do not want to think about the Kalam
whatever that is it sounds like a song.
I do not like religion because of all its wrongs
I do not like Jesus the Lamb.
I do not like Him, Sam-I-am.

Speaking of wrongs, would you think about morality
and how it is planted in reality?
How do you think good can exist when
there is no grounding?

No, not morality.
It’s from society.
There is no good.
It is constructed and has variety.
I would not listen to the Kalam
Christianity is so wrong.
I will not not folow Jesus the Lamb.
I do not like Him, Sam-I-am.

What if you could be wrong? Could you?
There is evidence, and facts!
Here they are.

I would not,
could not,
be wrong!

You may find them true.
You will see.
Thinking is not taboo
just follow the arguments freely?

I would not, could not find them true.
It would make me stop the things I like to do.
I will not think about morality.
Those are from society.
I will not think about the Kalam.
Religion has done so much wrong.
I will not think about it here or there.
I will not think about it anywhere.
I do not like Jesus the Lamb.
I do not like Him, Sam-I-am.

You do not like them.
So you say.
Think about them! Think about them!
And you may.
Think and you may I say.

Sam!
If you will let me be,
I will think about them.
You will see.

Say!
These arguments hold weight 
They are intriguing, I will think about what they mean.

Religion is not a big coup, this may change my worldview

I will think about morality.
It must be more than just from society.
I will think about the Kalam.
Has this Religion has done so much wrong?
I will think about it here or there.
I will think about it anywhere.
I may grow to like Jesus the Lamb.
I may like Him, Sam-I-am.

Leave a Reply

